- Things to Do This Week
- Boat Tours
- Hiking & Walking
- Berry Picking
- Festivals & Theatres
- Art Galleries
- Auk Island Winery
- Root Cellars
- Historic Landmarks
- Other Attractions
Did you know ...
Twillingate has excellent coastline and conditions for sea kayaking.
The Beothuk dwelled along the coast line of Notre Dame Bay and the Boyd’s Cove Beothuk Intrepretation Centre today marks the site of significant archeological findings. It is a provincial historic site worth a visit.
Discovered in 1981 through an archaeological survey, the site is a testament to the Beothuk First Nation that occupied it from 1650-1720.
Walk down a groomed trail past the captivating outlines of several Beothuk houses and as you do you'll be drawn into imagining life in their thriving village 300 years ago. Tour the interpretation centre where exhibits and artifacts from the site foster an appreciation for these now-extinct people. The interpretive display is based on recent archaeological research at a large Beothuk village circa 1650-1720.
The exhibit area is broken into two main areas: archaeological information and Beothuck culture. The archaeological section consists of information boards depicting the discovery of the Boyd’s Cove site and the archaeological excavations, and showcases various artifacts excavated from the site including projectile points.
Likewise, based on the archaeological evidence, the Beothuk culture exhibit focuses on the diet, spirituality and manufacturing of tools and house. At the rear of the building, a walking trail links the Centre to the area on which the archaeological excavations occurred. Visitors may also view the various flora and fauna that inhabit the area.
"The Spirit of the Beothuk"
Follow the 1.5 km groomed walking trail that links the interpretation centre with the living site and catch a glimpse of "The Spirit of the Beothuk", a bronze statue designed by renowned artist Gerald Squires.
The building is completely wheelchair accessible.
Guided tours are available. 1.5 km walking trail
There's a gift shop on site.
Parking for motorcoaches, R/Vs and other vehicles.
Hours of Operation
Season: May 22 - October 15, 2010
Hours: 10:00 am - 5:30 pm
Open seven days a week including weekends and holidays.
The congregation of St. Peter's can trace its history back as far as 1814, when a request for a minister was sent to the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts. In 1816, Rev. John Leigh, the first resident minister, arrived in Twillingate.
A church building had already been started and was eventually consecrated in July, 1827 by the Bishop of Nova Scotia, The Right Reverend John Inglis.
By 1838, it was decided to build a new church and in 1839 the foundation was laid. On December 11, 1842 the first service was held and the church was consecrated on July 3, 1845 by Bishop Field.
St. Peter's Church is one of the oldest wooden churches in Newfoundland and is patterned from St. James’ Church in Poole, England from where the chandeliers were purchased.
The bell was purchased by the people of all religious denominations as a Thanksgiving for the great seal harvest in the spring of 1862. The bell bears the inscription, "In memory of the Great Haul, 1862". The bell rang for the first time on December 25, 1863.
The pipe organ, which is used today, was erected in 1897 and was hand blown until an electric blower was installed in 1963.
St. Peter's Church also has five stained glass windows given in memory of its forebears.
Twillingate Masonic Lodge was constituted 1889 under the Grand Lodge of England by Wor. Bro. Walter C. Sharpe, W.M.
Twillingate's Masonic Hall, recognized by the Heritage Foundation of Newfoundland, was constructed in 1906. It's most striking feature is its offset tower with an almost egg-shaped dome. The eaves of the building are heavily bracketed, and the facade is decorated with an elaborate Masonic insignia.
The design of the building's windows are also of interest, as the window trim on the first and second storeys are different, the upper level featuring curved arches, and the lower level featuring triangular pediments.